The Nutcracker and the Four Realms Reviews

Page 1 of 16
December 13, 2018
Mond numbing borefest.
December 12, 2018
Mackenzie Foy is the only reason to see this movie.
½ December 12, 2018
Yiiiiikes. I must start by saying I was extremely excited to see this film. Sadly, I left the theater extremely disappointed. While this film is absolutely gorgeous, it's nothing but an emotionless shell. The script is extremely sloppy and underdeveloped, leaving a "big" twist not big at all. While I did enjoy Keira's performance, the film's bad writing only left me wanting more, and not in a good way.
½ December 11, 2018
It was a really bad movie. I felt iit had holes in the story they should have elaborated on. It reminded me of A wrinkle in Time (which I felt the same way) and like the wizard of Oz and Alice in wonderland. I was highly dissatisfied. It looked so good from the commercials.
December 11, 2018
The movie was awesome, and it reminds me of my childhood when I watched the Nutcracker.
Super Reviewer
½ December 10, 2018
Not being overly familiar with the German story from which the famous ballet drew its inspiration I was completely game for this Disneyfied version of The Nutcracker story. If nothing else, I thought The Nutcracker and the Four Realms might make me feel like a kid again. You know, being fed classic literature through the guise of Walt Disney´┐ 1/2(TM)s interpretation and being spared any gory or potentially upsetting details in favor of being sent home with a belly full of sentimental, if not substantial, satisfaction. This, coupled with the fact it might be nice to get a break from what might have otherwise been another ´┐ 1/2live-action´┐ 1/2┬? re-imagining of one of my childhood classics made for a fair amount of-I won´┐ 1/2(TM)t say excitement, but eagerness on my part. The fact it clocked in at a brisk 90-minutes didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t hurt either.

And for the first half hour or so I was on board with what both the Mouse House and director-for-hire Lasse Hallstr├Âm (What´┐ 1/2(TM)s Eating Gilbert Grape, The Cider House Rules) were doing and seemingly wanted to do. Without so much as breaking a sweat the film instinctively provides this necessary aura of Christmas warmth. I say Hallstr├Âm is a director-for-hire because that´┐ 1/2(TM)s what it feels like at this stage in his career and with this type of project, but as one can tell from the man´┐ 1/2(TM)s past credits this is not a single-faceted filmmaker and thus there are some very cool, very classic choices in terms of style as not only does the film pay homage to large ballet productions, but to the golden-age of movie musicals as well. I won´┐ 1/2(TM)t sit here and pretend I know all there is to know about classic Hollywood musicals or ballet productions and make comments on how Hallstr├Âm uses there influence to craft his visuals, but I will say that thousands of life-size mice forming together in constant motion to create one big Mouse King is absolutely terrifying and also rather visually inventive too. So, there´┐ 1/2(TM)s that.

It is once the parameters of the plot are defined and the characters all established that things become all the more predictable; the motivations of the characters and the lessons intended to be taught all equally as obvious. Our protagonist, Clara (Interstellar´┐ 1/2(TM)s Mackenzie Foy), is meant to learn lessons about and the differences between trust and responsibility as well as deception through this journey she has to commit to completing on her own and though these may feel like terribly trite lessons, there is something to be said for the fact that sometimes all people need for you to do is trust in yourself and hold strong to your ideals. It is in this regard that it´┐ 1/2(TM)s hard to come down on The Nutcracker and the Four Realms in any real harsh way. The fact the film starts off strong enough and initially feels as if it might become as immersive as the very expensive digital effects and fantastical sets make it seem to be it very quickly devolves into a stilted narrative that often times feels as if it too still has to work out the plot. Instead of putting in the work to figure out how the story might naturally progress though, and find a resolution that might stress the aforementioned themes it instead hurries through the beats of a discarded YA script to reach an underwhelming and lackadaisical finale.

Morgan Freeman has maybe (maybe) a day´┐ 1/2(TM)s worth of work in here and Helen Mirren barely registers. The same goes for Eugenio Derbez and Richard E. Grant who are massively wasted as afterthought supporting characters while Keira Knightley makes a (bold?) choice with that voice. More Matthew Macfadyen in things though, please. Thanks.

The whole Russian nesting doll concept with real people was a cool idea too and it´┐ 1/2(TM)s bits like this mixed with the lack of them anywhere else in the third act that hint towards the fact Joe Johnston´┐ 1/2(TM)s (October Sky, Captain America: The First Avenger) re-shoots might have been a bit more extensive than routine re-shoots.

#ReleaseTheHallstr├ÂmCut
½ December 9, 2018
Racist to the core ! We left after 20 minutes. The movie exists as yet another vehicle to push a romance between a black male and a white female. Sickening ! don't wast your money or expose your children to this continued globalist anti white agenda.
December 7, 2018
Loved this movie, as did my wife and 12 year old son. Not sure what's not to like, except that it does mention Christmas and I guess that's it's key fault. My 5 star rating could not be saved/ loaded.
½ December 6, 2018
No , not a great movie for sure, and is embarrassing somewhat for knightley but still many good things , including the lead actress and the colourful movie scenery etc
December 5, 2018
Disney shouldn't have another people-acting movie.
December 5, 2018
I went to the cinema to see it not expecting much because of the reviews . But I loved it. I'm 38 years old guy and I loved it. Yes it is. It a movie that will leave long impression but it is s movie to watch every Christmas and it is engaging and fun
December 4, 2018
I HATE ROTTEN TOMATO GO DIEEEEEEEEW
December 4, 2018
I saw this with my family and we all went in not expecting much because of low scores from critics but we all really enjoyed it! The music, special effects, costumes, and production design all came together to create magic on the big screen. The snippets of dancing and homage paid to the original ballet was beautifully done and perfectly placed into the story. The story itself might've been predictable, but still had it's fair share of twists, and was still full of heart and Christmas spirit. I enjoyed the uplifting themes woven into the story about family, dealing with the loss of loved ones, and to not judge appearances. I still don't understand the bad reviews from critics, but as a casual moviegoer who's just somewhat familiar with the original nutcracker story, I loved this retelling and would definitely recommend it, especially for the Christmas season. (I enjoyed it so much I created an account JUST to write this review, haha :)
December 4, 2018
Filmnya bagus... Keren kostumnya i love it
½ December 4, 2018
We thought it was WONDERFUL! I don't think the critics saw the same movie. The Nutcracker is a BALLET, and the ballet dancing was marvelous! The movie kept the essential elements of the classic and then added to them. Clara became a very smart, brave, and resourceful girl; and villians became the heroes and vice versa (not to give it away). The acting was tremendous, the scenery enchanting, the costumes magnificent, and the music, of course, beautiful. What are these critics looking for? The only negative was that the wonderfully portrayed "Godfather" character was a bit too out of context, but that's just my taste. Go see it!
December 3, 2018
I'm kinda confused here. So this girl got a present that lead her to this fairytale land and met ice people, candy people and flower people. It's a great movie to see. I just keep watching the trailers and the only thing it explains is that Mother Ginger is the villain when halfway through the movie Sugarplum becomes the villain. So I guess it's ok.
December 1, 2018
When to this one on weeken,
That was a mistake.
December 1, 2018
I must be the only one that LOVED this movie...

I'm not an 'over-entertained', or visually-spoiled regular movie-watching critic like most of these people giving this movie such a bad review.

For all the bad things people have said about this movie, here's the things I loved about it that the critics seemed to have just missed:

1) Lots of us never understood the ballet version of The Nutcracker Suite, and frankly some of us just think Ballet is too boring to sit through and try to figure out the storyline, but this movie totally helps RE-INTERPRET this story, for us non-ballet lovers to an exciting version which is much easier to understand, without sitting through all the dancing, YET still pays respect to the music and displays some of the ballet to pay tribute to the original masterpiece.

2) I say if people want to see the ORIGINAL Nutcracker Ballet, there are ALREADY PLENTY of that to see on video or ON STAGE LIVE of the SAME OLD STORY.

3) I've just lost my mother this year, and this story is exactly what I needed to ESCAPE my grief into this Disney fantasy land. I've been feeling dead inside with no Christmas Spirit until I saw this movie tonight, which reminded me that 'Missing someone' really means you're fondly remembering them, therefore what a wonderful way to honor them.

4) I love Disney's positive message about 'not judging a book by its cover' ... that just because a person or thing doesn't look outwardly "pretty", it doesn't mean they are immediately bad or evil ... and vice versa.

5) Anyone whose mother has just passed away will really appreciate this movie ... I had a few moments when my eyes welled up with tears with how Clara, her father and her siblings deal with their grief about the loss of their Mother / Wife.

6) Clara uses the passing of her mother as a source of STRENGTH and to remember all the GOOD life lessons her mother taught her.

7) The sets, wardrobe, colors, music were rich, lush and absolute eye-candy, just what you would expect from a Disney production.

So I, as a layman movie watcher, gives The Nutcracker Suite And The Four Realms 2 Thumbs-Up and 5-STARS!
½ December 1, 2018
this movie was hella expensive and is one of the most boring films I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)ve ever seen. The climax sucked and I nearly fell asleep during it. There was some lame jokes made POORLY sksksks and literally no one laughed. Maybe tiny little children would want to watch but i personally did not enjoy. Bad movie ew, worse than paddington about that bear or something. Let me spell it out for you B O R I N G
sksskssksksksksksksksks kmn. The ´┐ 1/2 1/2intense´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? parts weren´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t very ENGAGING ugh and it obviously wasn´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t intense AT ALL :). Other than a waste of time it was a movie I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)d watch with my barbie dolls in the middle of the night. Yw. Honestly it was just bad lmao.
½ December 1, 2018
Beautiful cinemotography and intricate costumes! The snippets of the Tchaikovsky's famous Nutcracker ballet music were well placed in scenes and sounded beautful. However, aside from the visuals and music, the plot was flat and the scenes were slow and dragging. I am not sure who the target audience is for this film. If it's for the youth, its too slow and un-dramatic. If it's for adults,...zzzz.
Page 1 of 16
Large Cat Kitten Tree Activity Centre Scratch Scratching Post Climbing Toy Bed | Dispositif intelligent | Telly Savalas