The Girl in the Spider's Web - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Girl in the Spider's Web Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 18, 2018
Nowhere near as good as the prior English one by Fincher in any regard, being more of an action film than a brooding and tense meditation on violent misogyny (though, of course, still touching on such subject matter), but thoroughly entertaining in itself.
November 17, 2018
Too many comparisons to the original series, "not enough drama.." blah blah blah, this is a high tech action movie, thank you for that! Keep making them!
½ November 17, 2018
The best comparison I have for this film is a 70's James Bond film but with a female lead. Too many coincidences, too many ex machinas, too implausible.
November 17, 2018
Kind of James Bond feel with an interesting story and characters that have history.
November 17, 2018
Lisbeth sleep with women, not Michal anymore. That's the most I get from this latest of Salander series. I'm not against homosexual, but it's mystery to me that Hollywood writers think that'd juice thing up? Stupid libbies.

Nothing in this movie is outstanding. The actress has no appeal, sexual or acting, to talk about (she actually smiles when finally pointing gun at her own sister. Humans must be always happy before shooting their siblings). Not recommend to anyone.

By the way, AMC theaters are becoming restaurants now. Movie experience is dead. Netflix rule.
November 16, 2018
it was nice to revisit the character but there was something missing from the first the movies.
½ November 16, 2018
What a waste of my time and the time of everyone who worked on this bust of a film. It has almost nothing to do with the book. The movie used the character's names but gutted the story..my husband, who hadn't read the book also hated the movie.
November 16, 2018
Watched today and thought it was a great movie!
November 16, 2018
Good thriller. Packed with action and sense of humor. I liked how the movie was cleverly set up like a chess game between the protagonist and antagonist. However, it lacked mystery. The trailer kind of gave away a lot of important points in the story. I also had issues with the plot and there wasn't enough depth/development of the characters for me to care for them. Although I enjoyed the movie it did leave me feeling unsatisfied. Perhaps I should have read the book prior to the movie.
November 16, 2018
Was it as good as the first three, no. Was it still worth seeing, yes!!
Super Reviewer
½ November 15, 2018
In preparation for The Girl in the Spider's Web, I decided to do my homework for once and watch all of the previous Millennium film adaptations for point of reference. I can safely say in retrospect that the franchise isn't worth watching past the original Swedish version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I know many out there love to fawn over David Fincher's cold and calculated lesser works, but his manic-depressive, pixie nightmare girl version of Lisbeth Salander (played by Rooney Mara) paled in comparison to Noomi Rapace's Mary Sue Manson portrayal in Niels Arden Oplev's 2009 film. If I can say anything of Claire Foy donning the titular tat, it is that she actually seems like a female action hero who is fully capable of handling herself without worrying about romantic interests or brooding on self-doubt like some Hot Topic poseur who occasionally tasers men in the balls.

For a surly, bisexual cyber-terrorist, the character of Lisbeth might be better served as a bastion of female empowerment outside of the hands of exclusively male writers and directors. Fede Alvarez has managed to almost completely gloss over the fact that she is a vigilante who hurts men that hurt women. In this movie, she does that to exactly ONE man who explicitly hurt a woman, so her sororal rivalry hinges on something we are only told she's well-known for. Of course, most folks going into the film should have enough background to know that that is *specifically* her modus operandi, but if you had no context for it one might just assume that she is a goth female James Bond. And most of the movie plays out as such in all of its schlocky glory.

Speaking of Daniel Craig, here is another facet of improvement over the earlier Fincher film. Instead of this being a story about how a tough, attractive journalist gets to solve a mystery that occasionally happens to include the titular Girl, this Girl is actually the centerpiece of her own movie instead of a plot convenience for a failed attempt at dissociating Craig from Bond films. While it's by no means as competently directed as Fincher's prelude - and believe me there are so many dumb moments in this - it manages to stay stylish and action packed enough to keep you from yawning by the very fact that you will be scoffing constantly, a feat that the two Swedish sequels couldn't come close to accomplishing.

And my ears will rest easy not having to suffer through another atrocious industrial Led Zeppelin cover.
November 15, 2018
Claire Foy did a great Lizbeth but the plot was kinda predictable. The FBI involvement was a good twist.
November 15, 2018
Enjoyed it completely! I liked Claire Foy in this role, not sure why this received such a low score.
½ November 15, 2018
I enjoy a good "fantasy" movie, but I quickly lost the ability to believe that Claire Foy could beat up anyone, nevermind thugs. Also, the sub plot of her adoring fan boy journalist is just creepy. Alternate title for this movie - "Men bad, women broken".
November 15, 2018
Here you have it folks, Salander by Foy on a par with Reacher by Cruise. Lightweight tosh and that's doing it a favour. I hope Rapace or Mara don't watch this, otherwise they will turn it into a comedy cult classic. I don't think Foy fancied the extreme metalwork and consequently comes across as a very confused Emo character.
November 14, 2018
3/5. Definitely the worst film in the series, Claire Foy is great and the film is entertaining, but the cinematography sucks, Sverrir Gudnason is miscast, and the story isn't as interesting as the other films.
November 14, 2018
Well-shot but extremely generic
½ November 14, 2018
After seeing then previous American movie and the three Swedish iterations, I found this entry in the series to be disappointing and flat. I wanted Clare Foy to be quirkier and darker than she was; I just didn't feel like she was Salandar-y enough at all. It was hard to know what inspired her or what her driving force was. There was also a lot of disappointment in how this movie played fast and loose with Lisbeth's back story. What happened to the part where she set her own father on fire, which was a pivotal point in the early movies/books? That seemed to have disappeared in this plot just so they could slide a mysterious, previously non-existent sister into the plot. The thoughtless discarding of Lisbeth's established past made me dislike this movie quite a bit. It would not have been difficult to dovetail the events of this movie with those in the others, but the filmmakers didn't even try. That lack of effort was reflected almost everywhere else in the movie. Weak plot, jumble of "twists" that weren't that surprising, a version of "Sweden" that was choppy and unreal. This movie lacked energy and vision and a strong star--even though the character of Lisbeth *should* have provided all of those things and more. Overall, very disappointing.
November 14, 2018
Just saw this mess. Let's get the checklist out. USA is bad...check, Men are bad...check, Fathers are bad...check, Sweden is peaceful and avoid wars unlike the evil US (They just turn the Jews over to the Nazi's)...check. Lesbians are good...check, The black man in Sweden will save the day and make fools out of his white counterparts at the NSA ...check. The plot, I think is something about stealing a secret computer program to control all the world nukes, good luck trying to figure it out. I want to know who financed this garbage, and why do they still have any $$$.
November 14, 2018
I do like Claire Foy in any roll. The film was action pact and held my interest until the end. Entertaining. Beautiful scenery shots, good action scenes.
Page 1 of 6
Bitdefender Total Security 2019 – 1, 3, 5 oder 10 Geräte / PC | 1, 2 und 3 Jahre | Phim bộ | The Super