Hunter Killer Reviews

Page 1 of 14
½ December 14, 2018
Just when you think it's going to be just another pro-US genital measuring film - it turns into a story about diplomacy. It's by no means an intellectual submariner masterpiece, but it's not horrible either.
November 30, 2018
Excellent sub movie. I had been waiting for this to come out and it didnt disappoint.
November 28, 2018
My wife and I love this movie.????????
½ November 25, 2018
If you are thinking of watching this movie and are looking at the the scrore on rotten tomatoes, the scrore on this website is horrid, this is a great movie that is well over 37% "good" it deserves at least a 80%, it deserves a great score and I'd an amazing movie, go watch it, it's amazing!!!
November 23, 2018
Top marks for this action thrill ride
November 23, 2018
Very tense and exciting
November 21, 2018
Bad ass movie, period!
November 20, 2018
Amazing movie! Jammed with the most sophisticated type of action presented to us in not so familiar surroundings (the deep blue seas). Filled with scenes of courage, sacrifice, loyalty..I applaud it.
November 18, 2018
I thought they did a great job with this movie. I like millitary/war movies. Gerard Butler and Gary Oldman were great choices. I don't feel like it followed all the other sub movies as some critics have suggested. The plot was engaging and kept my interest from beginning to end. If you like submarine/millitary I would highly suggest you see this movie.
Doug J.
November 17, 2018
I honestly don't know what movie the critics saw, but I loved this movie from start to finish. It kept me on the edge of my seat and looking for the next thing!!!
November 15, 2018
The simple, straightforward ‚Hunter Killer‚? is as basic as they come, but its solid storytelling makes this mainstream military thriller one that‚(TM)s worth watching. This is familiar territory, especially in the line of submarine films, but the action is fun and the film is an engaging dose of testosterone.

American submarine Captain Joe Glass (Gerard Butler) is on the hunt for a U.S. sub in distress in the Arctic Ocean. When the crew discovers a secret Russian military coup erupting, the United States send in secret ops to free the kidnapped Russian President (Alexander Diachenko). Suddenly, Glass faces a new mission: rescue the team of Navy SEALS and the Russian President and get them safely onboard the submarine in order to stop World War III.

The plot may be far-fetched, but the movie isn‚(TM)t dumb. The story feels a little dated and generic, but the film is engaging. Plagued early on by bored performances from Butler and the supporting cast (including Gary Oldman, Common, and Linda Cardellini), the film picks up steam as the action sequences deliver. Some of the underwater submarine special effects are laughable, but none of these criticisms matter.

This is an entertaining, intense, basic action film that‚(TM)ll likely be brutally reviewed by critics who feel they are too good for solid popcorn entertainment like this. If you‚(TM)re a fan of movies like ‚The Hunt for Red October‚? and ‚Crimson Tide,‚? you‚(TM)ll enjoy this one too.

A SCREEN ZEALOTS REVIEW
November 15, 2018
Great movie! love the plot, great action reminded me of "Hunt For Red October" .
November 14, 2018
If you want great action, story line and acting, you will like this movie a lot! If you want terrible acting about some artistic strangness that nobody except out-of-touch movie critics like, then you are not reading this review- that is reserved for the movie critic oddities that are completely out of touch with the public. Whenever I see a movie the critics say is terrible and the public says is great, like this one, it's usually a sign of a decent movie.
November 13, 2018
This is the only submarine movie worth seeing. Its adherence to pseudo realism is refreshing but does not prevent it from being extravagant. Actual submarine vets will notice some laughable errors in protocol and jargon, but most would be undetectable to the general public.

To be fair, the plot is bonkers. It focuses on a complex yet under-explained military overthrowing which, even upon conclusion, leaves some gaps for you to guess at. It's a little bit cliche, but the inclusion of the submarine gives the story some variety. It's harder to relate to than a more traditional war film, but the oceanic action is more than impressive enough to make up for the normal scenes of gunfire and bombs.

Oldman is always impressive. Butler is fairly believable. Common is out of place. The rest of the cast and crew (literally) don't make too much of a flash.

Unless you have a truly hardened heart against classical military drama, you will enjoy Hunter Killer. If you have any interest in submarines, you will enjoy Hunter Killer. I do not expect to hear it's name during Oscar season, but it is certainly worth seeing.
November 12, 2018
I liked it. Worth it to see on the big screen versus at home.
November 12, 2018
An enjoyable, popcorn political thriller.
November 11, 2018
Love this movie. It is a thriller. If you enjoy action, you would love this movie. Don't listen to rotten tomatoes, THEY ARE ROTTEN!
November 11, 2018
AMAZING MOVIE!!!! Full of suspense!! Definitely keeps you interested! Wonderful movie to watch on Veterans Day!!!

I am not sure who reviews movies for the rotten tomato? Their reviews tend to be the opposite for me. The audiences score is normally a better indication.
November 11, 2018
A Great Action Movie !
½ November 10, 2018
An ok military thriller with a passable and predictable story. It holds your attention as it swaps between the submarine crew and the land forces, although there isn't much tension or suspense and it does get a bit silly towards the end. The mix of green screen, stock footage and live action scenes are a bit jarring and although the acting is ok, the characters don't have much depth to them.
Page 1 of 14
Armor Hero | Bingbing Li | O Conto dos Contos (Il racconto dei racconti – Tale of Tales) 2016