Beautiful Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 14, 2018
Heartbreakingly beautiful <3
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2018
It felt like it was taking this a long time to really find its groove and then I checked my phone to see where we were time-wise and it was an hour and a half in. Needless to say, Beautiful Boy has no groove to be found.

Having not read the source material this may immediately mean less to me, but the structuring of this story as its done in the film doesn't help. It's not hard to see what the film is trying to do in telling the two parallel perspectives of the father and the son caught in this battle with addiction, but in doing so what results is a disjointed mess of a movie (at least upon first watch). We never spend long enough periods with either of the characters to garner any real sympathy for them-not until the end anyway when Carell brings it all home.

It's kind of a weird movie too, but worse is the fact it's a boring weird movie. Every single aspect of these people's lives revolves around coping with addiction and addiction itself, but there has to be more in order to have the audience invest in these lives. I adore Steve Carell and Timothï¿ 1/2 (C)e Chalamet seems like a genuinely nice, cool, and grateful kid, but even their strenuous performances feel exhausting and void of any tangible pathos.
December 9, 2018
This film is kind of a bummer, no doubt about it. The depiction of drug use is honest and unflinching in both ways. When the reason someone does drugs is the above quote, how do you argue against it? The performances of Steve Carell as the father and Timothy Chalet as the drug addicted son are fantastic, depicting both sides of the tale as earnest and imperfect. It does a great job of creating their relationship, and then testing it to (and sometimes past) its breaking point. It creates a very palpable sense of despair when he is using the drugs, and a palpable sense of impending doom whenever he isn't, sensing that the addiction hasn't entirely loosened its grip on him. The story does well to progress in a non-linear fashion so as to largely keep things interesting and avoid the repetition of the cycle that the young man was stuck in of recovery and relapse. There's no easy answers or quick fixes here, which makes for a challenging, thought provoking and ultimately rewarding watch. See it, then go home and watch a sitcom to cleanse the palate and put some smiles into your brain again.
December 8, 2018
Perhaps because he´s coming from a more solid career in comedy films and even out of gender bias, we rarely realize how good actor Steve Carell is. His recent choices, however, only serve to reinforce the talent of the "40 Year Old Virgin" (2005) as a dramatic actor. "Foxcatcher" (2014) and especially "The Big Short" (2015) already exhibited its versatility. And when he plunged into dramas like "Last Flag Flying" (2017) and the most recent "Beautiful Boy" (2018), Carell further justified the choices made by different directors for their work.

There are some similarities between these two more recent films. "Last Flag Flying" is the story of a father who loses his son in the Iraq war and only wants to bury him while he lives his mourning alongside fellow friends of the Vietnam War. "Beautiful Boy" is the story of a father, a family, but very focused on this father, who deals with his son's drug addiction. In both Carell's work is accurate, touching and with the safety of veteran experienced dramatic actors.

His David Sheff is one of the strengths of "Beautiful Boy". The other is the work of his colleague Timothee Chalamet. At just 23 years old, the actor has been consolidating himself as a strong name in cinema with ever better performances. Chalamet had already drawn attention in the drama "Call Me by Your Name" (2017), when it was the young Elio, who fell in love with an American writer, his first love. In "Beautiful Boy" he brings the necessary dramatic charge to Nic's story and does not fall into the exaggeration of the daydreams of madness by the use of drugs so frequent in films reporting this type of problem.

Nic's pain is absurdly palpable. Your desperation to get out of it too. Depression interspersed with moments of false joy, for it was known how much Nic suffered from within, are alive in Chalamet's eyes.

"Beautiful Boy" is a hard movie to watch. A real story about a family that had everything to be perfect and is dredged by the drug problem. Especially the use of methamphetamine. But at the same time it is of a unique beauty, or perhaps difficult to describe by showing this strength of the relationship between father and son. An almost unbreakable force even when David sees the need to leave the scene to recover. And how beautiful Carell's work is by carrying all these nuances with her.

And at this point it is necessary to speak of another fundamental question in the construction of this story: the edition of the film of Felix van Groeningen, the same director of "Alabama Monroe" (2012). The idea of ??building a fragmentary history with bits of past and present mixing together was risky, could cause confusion, but it was very well done. In her, we gradually understood that relationship of love between father and son, the way Nic immersed himself in drugs, moved away from his father, his mistakes, his comings and goings, the bottom of the pit. A structure that brought to the film moments of pure poetry.

"Beautiful Boy" speaks of a very serious subject, the chemical dependency, but without falling into false moralisms. On the other hand, it is also a movie about the force of love. The love of a father for his son, for a whole family for this son and for never giving up. Even when everything seems lost. And it still has an excellent soundtrack.
December 6, 2018
I cannot believe this movie did not get higher ratings. It got slammed for predictability, but addicts are predictable. I thought it was the most real portrayal of addiction and life and family I have seen on screen in a long time, if not ever. Be ready to cry.
December 5, 2018
This story was beautifully done and made me feel for families of addicts. I have never seen Steve Carell do a dramatic part before and man can he act. I also can not wait to see great things from Timothee Chalamet. I just wish theyhad focused more on the relationship or lack that he had with his siblings. Great powerful movie.
½ December 3, 2018
The "muted emotional impact" is welcomed! We do not need another Requiem for a Dream here. The horror of meth use (including injection) is thankfully not shoved in your face. This film allows the audience to witness the impact objectively, allowing us to be reflective and introspective rather than wiping away tears.
December 2, 2018
excellent performances made this so surreal and intense. The constant scene change may disappoint but the acting is so natural.
December 2, 2018
Amazing performances and gave the roller coaster ride of overcoming addiction and then relapsing. Really well done.
½ December 2, 2018
I thought the performances by Timothï¿ 1/2 (C)e Chalamet and Steve Carell were award-winning. It's a powerful film that everyone needs to see - especially in this current state of 'addiction.'
December 1, 2018
Not as good as I was hoping for. Does a good job of showing the vicious cycle of drug abuse. Timothee Chamalet does an amazing job.
November 30, 2018
i want to see it now. Where can I download or stream this movie? Thanks, Mike
November 29, 2018
Overall good movie covering family and addiction, add this to the top of the collection for Timothee Chalamet as he is currently killing it with movies like Lady Bird and Call Me By Your Name. It is also nice to see Steve Carell play in a role like this, once again proving his versatility with another serious movie by his name.
November 28, 2018
Slow and boring. I feel as though I wasted two hours of my life going to see this rubbish.
Super Reviewer
November 26, 2018
The story's impact is almost diluted by the film's editing (with its jumps in time and flashbacks within flashbacks) and questionable choice of music, which makes it kind of emotionally stiff, even though that is compensated by two amazing performances by Timothée Chalamet and Steve Carell.
½ November 26, 2018
The jumps in time that this movie takes between flash backs, and present time became a bit muddled at times. This movie is really heavy, the topic and the way it is portrayed on screen is very serious and depressing. It becomes hard to watch at times which makes me question my rating because the tremendous acting that takes place in this movie pulls me in the other direction. It's difficult to rate this one but I'd say give it a watch there just may not be much "re-watching" for this one due to the heavy content.
½ November 25, 2018
LIFF32 (2018) #5

'Beautiful Boy' is a melancholic look on parenthood and the tragedy of watching loved ones dissolve away under lethal drugs. Based on David Sheff novel (by the same name) which documents his son addiction. Hard to sink in, but harder to forget.

Timothee Chalamet was magnificent in this movie and proves that 'Call Me By Your Name' wasn't just a fluke for him. Chalamet went in-depth in terms of preparation, such as: losing 25 lbs for the role and advice a doctor on set to ensure his acting as a drug addict was authentic - all his effort paid off beautifully. While Nick cause plenty of problem towards himself and his family, yet isn't portrayed as some villain for the audience to hate, just humanized enough to understand his struggle.

However, I thought Steve Carell was the biggest stand out. While Chalamet had the most showy scenes and material for him to be more talked about, but Carell's performance, in my opinion, was just more powerful. I think it's the quietness and natural presence that makes him believable. By placing yourself in the parent shoes, it makes for a devastating thought. Whenever Carell yelled, I must admit, I heard Michael Scott from 'The Office', but that didn't distract too much from his performance. When he cried, I cried with him.

The editing choices is quite bold, to say the least. Like take Jean-Marc Vallée style of editing, but set to overdrive - which is my biggest issue with certain cuts, especially at the beginning where it jumped between flashback and present day. After awhile it calmed down and show relevant scenes. Felix Van Groeningen approach to film making and writing brings a raw look on drug addiction while following some narrative cliches. Although I see this as an actors movie, as he allows the two leads to create their own characters within this world.

Also, the soundtrack-like structure didn't bother me that much despite the handful of complaints from people. I view the soundtrack as a visually way of showing the character's emotional state depending on the music choice.

Overall rating: It's got flaws, but still translates novel into a visual powerhouse. Nothing like 'Requiem for a Dream', but convinced me to never do drugs.
½ November 25, 2018
Felix Van Groeningen's adaptation of David Sheff's Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction and Nic Sheff's Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines boosts soul-crushing performances from Steve Carell and Timothée Chalamet even as its non-linear narrative and reiterative relapses accentuate the emotional wallop.
November 25, 2018
Acting was very good but thought it wasn't very realistic.
Page 1 of 6
3M DUAL LOCK Sticky TAPE Pads ~ CLEAR or BLACK ~ Low Profile, Strong, Heavy Duty | Will & GraceS10E7 - Episode 7 | Ein Herz fr Tiere (0)