A Star Is Born Reviews

Page 1 of 118
½ December 8, 2018
Extremely boring movie . Coopers accent is annoying , but gaga is just plain awful in this film
½ December 8, 2018
An impressively mounted film whose strong performances are undermined by a ridiculously paced epic that doesn't take its time to develop the romance between its main characters, its star on the rise story, nor its ultimately tragic conclusion. Almost nothing here feels 'earned', which thoroughly shattered my suspension of disbelief. I found the ending distasteful as well, though I see it's accurate to the original films.
December 8, 2018
Beautiful and heart-wrenching. Amazing acting and singing. I loved it.
December 8, 2018
Lady Gaga is phenomenal. Give her an Oscar!
December 7, 2018
My friend and I cried so hard we threw up all over the bathroom. Never watching again.
December 7, 2018
I walked out of this one! the primary relationship made no sense, Coopoer wasd an enmdless addict, Gaga held on to him for no good reason. The music was good, Lady Gaga is a true music superstar, and Cooper sang surprisingly well. But the movie was full of music business cliches, I thought it was shallow and the relastionship stupid, so I didn't even care ehst happened to these people. Gaga has acting potential but her doe-eyed intensity belied a beginning actor.
December 7, 2018
Fantastic movie! Great acting!
December 7, 2018
Beautiful love story (though very sad). My family and I saw this movie and loved it! The music was amazing, and Cooper and Lady Gaga had great chemistry together! Very good movie!
December 7, 2018
Not sure about the whole story.Gaga voice - amazing
December 6, 2018
What fantastic movie! The concert performances feel so energetic! The chemistry between Gaga and Bradley is of the charts scorching. This movie and the emotions it brought to the surface stayed with me for DAYS! I've seen it three times and my enthusiasm has not decreased.
December 6, 2018
Loved this movie Best of 2018
December 6, 2018
beautiful love story and great songs!!!!
December 5, 2018
shows the truth behind addiction and how one can be blind because of love. a true love story experienced by talented individuals who knew sacrifice.
December 5, 2018
Pros: The acting I thought was superb. The chemistry between Lady Gaga and Bradley was amazing. It felt like they were in love. The story is an old story and I don't usually love remakes, but they really did it justice.

Cons: I couldn't help thinking Bradley Cooper was playing Kris Kristofferson instead of his own version of a troubled musician. There's about 15 minutes in there that are really slow compared to the first half and the ending.
½ December 5, 2018
While Bradley Cooper gave all he could in this movie, Lady Gaga was a dead fish. She was okay in the singing scenes (it is her profession so it should be expected). This film is so overhyped and obviously it is fashionable to say it's good but someone has to be honest. It was boring. When Bradley's character hangs himself in the end, Gaga's reaction is tantamount to burning the roast.
December 5, 2018
Muy buena película, que lo mas destacable es la actuación de Bradley Cooper, y las habilidades que toma la cámara para hacernos sentir en este ambiente de conexión con los personajes.
December 5, 2018
Multiple Academy and Golden Globe Awards incoming, best film of 2018 and easily one of the best films of all time.
December 5, 2018
it was so baddddddd

some good direction by cooper, a pretty bad script with a few nice moments, and good acting but mostly from sam elliott and bradley cooper. some of the cinemetography was powerful - mainly 2 shots I'm thinking of in the entire runtime. Handled addiction well in some ways. I just don't get the hype, i'm sorry - gaga's acting buzz is a total mystery not because she didn't do well but because she didn't really have anything to work with. her character's flat as hell (screenwriter's fault), and i'm sorry but that fight scene is akin to the "you have bad hair" argument in anchorman. and most of this felt like watching a glorified and self-indulgent version of 'what a girl wants' but less enjoyable. gaga should get something for her original songs though, 'i will never love again' is beautiful.
½ December 5, 2018
Can't get over Jack's death ...
December 3, 2018
I wanted this movie to be so good!! I thought this was finally gonna be the movie for me.. I wanted to cry. I even brought someone with me that it reminded me of in the hopes I would find a scene that hit me emotionally and I would find tears. But like many have said already it was just an empty movie and felt patched together. An empty feeling

Cons:
A hard to follow story line, unnecessarily talking over each other, the whole first date with her punching a cop in the cop bar with very little lead up to it and you never see that type of aggressive behavior again through the movie, the way she quit her job could have been more cinematic (it really fell flat), no rehearing gets flown in and kills it on stage within hours, him being in the industry doesn't find her a manager on his own, unnecessary age gap with brothers, the selling dad's ranch scene (wtf was that), in the previews that I've watched and on here where Dave Chappelle "When growing up I always knew you were gonna do something, that you'd be alright..this is the first time I'm worried about you" that whole scene in this preview isn't in the movie and I was looking for it. Now there's a scene with Chappelle but he doesn't say what he says here in previews and I was already kind of getting taken out of the movie by that point but that furthered it. Ally (Gaga) then finds Jackson (Cooper) at Chappelle house and tells him that next time she won't be coming to look for him then two hours later they're in a church getting married...lol. It just didn't make sense and by the time the scene came where you're supposed to cry I was so taken out of the movie I was just like "Yeah that's sweet...yawn"

Pros:
The sound track is good and you get to see Lady Gaga nakey.

I saw the movie twice to confirm my results :)
Page 1 of 118
Book Not Buck - The Potteries Companion | Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018) | Large Print 2019 Rectangle Wall Calendar 14 Months New Year Christmas Decor Gift